LA Chargers: 4 NFL Honors Awards that could be won by a Charger

2 of 4
(Photo by Denis Poroy/Getty Images) – LA Chargers
(Photo by Denis Poroy/Getty Images) – LA Chargers /

LA Chargers’ potential award winner: Anthony Lynn, Coach of the Year

The LA Chargers have not had a Coach of the Year winner since 2004 when Marty Schottenheimer led the Chargers to a 12-4 season after going 4-12 the year prior. We could see a similar turnaround for the Bolts after going 5-11 last season, making Anthony Lynn a candidate for the job.

This season is very important for Lynn as if the year goes in one of the two extremes then one of two things are going to happen. If the team is disappointing yet again, it would not be all that shocking to see the Chargers move on. However, if the team rebounds, then Lynn is going to look like a genius and probably get an extension.

RELATED: Why the 2020 season could be Anthony Lynn’s last

Floating around .500 will simply buy him more time.

The reason why Lynn would look like a genius is, assuming the Chargers have a 10+ win season, it will likely be because of Tyrod Taylor smashing expectations, proving Lynn to be the one that was right on Taylor for being bullish on him.

Plus, the narrative of turning a 5-11 team around to a 10+ win team is such a good narrative to be the Coach of the Year. However, there are two things that are holding Lynn back from being ranked higher on this list.

First is the simple fact that I think 9-7 is the ceiling of the Chargers in 2020 and that is not enough to win the Coach of the Year Award. Second is that there is a big-name new coach on America’s team, Mike McCarthy, with a really solid roster in a terrible division that will get more media attention, even if both the Chargers and Cowboys win 10+ games.