Los Angeles Chargers: Top 5 former players who have won the Super Bowl

By Travis Wakeman
1 of 6

Sadly, the Los Angeles Chargers have never won the Super Bowl. However, a handful of former members of the team have had the chance to win a ring.

In 1994, the Chargers reached the big game after a terrific run through the playoffs. However, they ran into one of the best teams in NFL history. Despite having terrific teams in 2006, 2008 and even this past season, they have never returned to the big stage.

As a result, many great Chargers players have never won a Super Bowl. Philip Rivers, LaDainian Tomlinson, Junior Seau and Dan Fouts never won it all. Seau went to the New England Patriots just to win a Super Bowl and played on a team that had a perfect regular season, only to lose to the New York Giants in the Super Bowl.

For some Chargers and former Chargers, the Super Bowl will always be just out of reach. But for others, greener pastures were found elsewhere and a win on the biggest stage was attained.

Who are some of these guys? We count down the top five here.