2013 Chargers Team Awards Announced

By Ernie Padaon

Dec 29, 2013; San Diego, CA, USA; San Diego Chargers running back Ryan Mathews (24) runs for a short gain during the first half against the Kansas City Chiefs at Qualcomm Stadium. Mandatory Credit: Christopher Hanewinckel-USA TODAY Sports

The San Diego Chargers have announced their team awards today, after getting eliminated from the playoffs. It was a great run and here are the awards that were handed out to the team:

2013 MVP: Philip Rivers
2013 Offensive Player of the Year: Ryan Mathews
2013 Defensive Player of the Year: Eric Weddle
2013 Special Teams Player of the Year: Darrell Stuckey
2013 Lineman of the Year: Nick Hardwick
2013 Co-Most Inspirational Player: Nick Hardwick
2013 Co-Most Inspirational Player: Jarret Johnson
2013 Co-Most Inspirational Player: D.J. Fluker

Nice to see Fluker get recognized already in his rookie season as an inspirational player. Can’t disagree with those awards.

Keenan Allen also deserves to be recognized for his contribution to the offensive side of the football. Not sure where the team would be without him on offense. Ryan Mathews did a phenomenal job on offense this year as well.

Melvin Ingram could have also been named an inspirational player for fighting through that injury and getting back on the field and contributing to the late season run.