October 7, 2012; New Orleans, LA, USA; New Orleans Saints quarterback Drew Brees (9) is sacked by San Diego Chargers defensive end Corey Liuget (94) during their game at Mercedes-Benz Superdome. Mandatory Credit: Chuck Cook - USA TODAY Sports

2012 San Diego Chargers Team Awards

The San Diego Chargers voted for their team awards today. Here are the players that were honored:

Most Inspirational Player: Takeo Spikes
Special Teams POY: Mike Scifres
Lineman of the Year: Nick Hardwick
Defensive POY: Corey Liuget
Offensive POY: Malcom Floyd
MVP: Eric Weddle

And no Pro Bowlers.

So happy that Corey Liuget got that recognition from his team as defensive player of the year. He has been a stud at defensive end in the 3-4 defense. He has batted balls down and put pressure on the opposing quarterbacks.

Takeo Spikes has been a leader since he came to the team. He leads the team in emotion. Sad that we were unable to get him to the playoffs again this year.

Eric Weddle was easily the best player on the team this year.

Next Chargers Game View full schedule »
Monday, Sep 88 Sep7:20at Arizona CardinalsBuy Tickets
Dick's Sporting Goods presents "Hell Week":

Tags: San Diego Chargers

  • http://www.standupforkids.org blackroseMD1

    Floyd was Offensive POY? Not that he did a bad job, but Denario Alexander did a better job in his short time with the team.

    Liuget has been fantastic this year, as has Reyes. Good choice on that one.

    Weddle is probably the best player on the team right now. No doubt that he’s the team MVP.

  • davacho

    WEDDLE!!! : )